RSS

“Back In The Good Ole Days”

18 Mar

After a trip to the grocery store this afternoon, my husband and I were talking about the rising prices of everything lately, and reminiscing about “the good ole days”. We made note of how dubious it seemed as children when our parents would talk about “the good ole days”.

Growing up I always heard my dad talking about “back in [his] day”, how gas was only 10¢ a gallon, or how when he was a child, there were no speed-limits, and really, I would never give his stories a second thought after they were told. Thinking back now, I find it funny how at only twenty-two years old, I am already telling my daughter about how things were “back in my day”. While I never “had to walk to school in the snow, up-hill both ways”, I’m often surprised to find myself sharing about “the good ole days” before I realize how much has changed even over the last few years.

I started driving when I was eighteen, and while I remember a time when gas was only 99¢ per gallon, when I started driving myself, it was still under $2.00 a gallon. When I started driving, you could buy a good used car for less than $2000.00 and now you’re lucky to find anything that even runs for that little.

I remember when my dad used to send me into the grocery store (by myself as a child, because it wasn’t thought to be so dangerous “back then”) to buy a case of Coke and it was only $2.99. Now, even the off-brands cost more than that. I remember buying a loaf of bread for less than a dollar, a candy bar for 50¢, and going to yard sales where things were almost being given away.

As much as I had always thought about and planned my future when I was younger, it never crossed my mind that things would change so much. It’s not even just the cost of things, but the quality of things. I remember the furniture in my parents house when I was growing up, and diving from couch to couch and there were never any problems. These days, when my two-year-old sits on a piece of new furniture, you can listen to all of the springs groaning or popping and fabric beginning to tear. I remember building porches with my dad before I was even a teenager, and the fact that his cordless drill could build the whole structure without being charged, never crossed my mind. Nowadays, I can’t put one screw into the drywall without a battery needing to be charged.

As everything transforms, I find myself wondering how things will be when my daughter discovers the joys of change. What will the facts be when she and I sit and have similar conversations when she is living on her own?

“The only thing stays the same is that everything changes. Everything changes.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
