RSS

The Smell of Lavender In The Morning…

23 Mar

I woke up this morning around 6:00, talked with my husband as he got ready for work, and we had breakfast together. By 8:00 he was off to the job, and I was enjoying some quiet time, although I was quite surprised that my 2-year old hadn’t woken up yet. I sat down and watched some tv and at some point, drifted off to sleep. I awoke not long after, to the smell of lavender….nail polish!

My little girl, “Diva” as she is called often throughout the family, had woke up, found and decided to paint her nails…and her legs….and her arms and hands and a stroke on her cheek. Oh, and my bedroom (hard wood) floors!

What a way to wake up. I immediately called for Sarah, and she darted into her bedroom, because she seems to think that she becomes invisible in there. I peeked in to see her sitting in her Tinkerbell chair, looking guilty as sin, and purple.

I did the usual routine for when she gets into things, although it really doesn’t happen often, and I checked her mouth for any signs of ingestion, all was clear so I moved on to finding the rest of the damage…as well as the empty bottle.

Once I got her and her artwork cleaned up, I sat to think. All that was going through my mind was that I couldn’t be mad at her, because obviously the fact that she was able to get to the nail polish wasn’t her fault.

Parenting is an interesting journey. At two-years old, I often find myself wondering how to teach right from wrong without discipline, but also have a hard time deciding what type of discipline to use for different things.

As for the nail polish, she pretty much got away with it. I’m so grateful that she was familiar enough with it to know not to drink it. For this particular offense, I will be thankful she is alright, and focus more on the fact that she was trying to paint her nails like her mommy than her doing something wrong. I will also anxiously await the day that I can look back at things like this and laugh. She truly is such a girl, and even things like this being done are precious when you love someone this much.

She is my greatest earthly blessing.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Building Blocks for Life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “The Smell of Lavender In The Morning…

  1. canadianmommytime

    March 23, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I hope you took pictures! I appreciate that you reasoned through that it wasn’t her fault. It feels like I have the same reasoning almost all day long… Sometimes you wonder what they do understand… Especially when daddy and mommy use different words to say the same thing. I usually repeat what daddy said in ‘mommy words’ to help my 2 year old understand…
    Enjoyed the post.

     
    • valyoume

      March 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

      That is exactly it: wondering what they understand and how to explain. It is always wonderful to be reassured that somebody else is going through the same type of things. Thanks!

       
  2. Sis

    March 23, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    At two years old, a child should have the same abilities to follow instructions as a German Shepard. They should understand stop, no, and come here. I gradually teach them other things, but I usually only focus on one or two things at a time until they understand it and then I work my way to other behavioral problems. I have an 18-month old right now and she understands things like it isn’t okay to play in the toilet (because we’ve told her several times and removed her from the situation), but if something new came up that I haven’t taught her was wrong yet, she wouldn’t get punished, even if it was wrong because she has no idea it is even wrong yet.

     
  3. Tresa Saneaux

    April 6, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    I would like to express appreciation to the writer for rescuing me from this type of problem. After searching through the online world and finding solutions which were not beneficial, I believed my life was over. Living minus the solutions to the issues you’ve solved through the article content is a crucial case, and ones which may have negatively affected my entire career if I had not come across your blog. Your good understanding and kindness in playing with everything was invaluable. I don’t know what I would have done if I had not come upon such a point like this. I can also at this point relish my future. Thanks very much for this skilled and sensible guide. I will not hesitate to suggest your web blog to any individual who needs and wants assistance on this area.

     

Leave a Reply

 
