RSS

A Perfect Fit

29 Apr

I was thrilled to read another chapter of Becoming More Than Just A Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa Turkeurst last night. I, again, took a couple of pages of notes, and just copied some of the things that she wrote. I am inspired by her writing, and how easy it is to read and comprehend it. The main thing that stood out to me, was about fulfillment. Coincidentally, it wasn’t an hour after reading this chapter, that I was able to apply to a situation going on with a friend of mine, and share what I’d learned.

So what did I learn?

“God is a perfect fit for your emptiness.”

It’s so basic. It’s so obvious. But still, it is something that goes so unnoticed. It was brought to my attention that anything that you use to try to fill an emptiness in your life, is a substitute for God. Because only God can fulfill you. A Substitute for God is essentially a false idol. Another pretty basic assessment, but again, I had never looked at it that way. That has been stuck in my mind constantly throughout the day today.

There was also a couple of verses that I read, and have given a lot of thought to. I happened to come across those same verses again this afternoon, while doing a bit of unrelated research.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” -Matthew 6:19-21

These things just keep me thinking so much. I’m constantly thirsting for this knowledge. I’ve never felt so close to God.

“As long as I daily make the choice to be guided by His truth, He replaces my hollowness with a wholeness of love that has no gaps.”

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “A Perfect Fit

Leave a Reply

 
