RSS

Two Steps Forward…well, you know the rest

02 May

I’ve currently got myself wrapped up in a handful of Bible Studies that I’ve recently gotten into. I’m catching up on Becoming More Than Just a Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa Turkeust, to join a friend in a small group that she is studying it with. I’m also working on Made to Crave also by Lysa Turkeust, which I just started today, and Intentional Choices: Discovering Contentment In Stressful Times. I’ve found that when I’m home alone, I get too bored to read. I’m a better reader when there are other people around (for whatever reason), whether they are reading with me or not. Either way, I’ve been enjoying “Bible Study Girl” quite a lot, and just can’t wait to explore what the book has to say further than I have to this point. “Intentional Choices”, is also a decent book. I actually started this with my husband and his best friend, and the first chapter took us about two hours to go over. I guess I don’t really have anything to say about the book itself one way or the other, but it got the three of us opened up to thinking and discussing things that we otherwise probably wouldn’t have. “Made to Crave”, which I just started today, didn’t start off so well. As I completed the first chapter, I walked away less interested than when I began because I was feeling condemned by it, which was certainly not what I was expecting. Upon completing the study guide that goes with “Made to Crave”, I told my best friend how I was feeling about it because she had done this study about a year ago. I was pleased to find out that she had shared the same feelings that I was getting when she was reading it. It took me a little while to articulate the feelings, but once I did she helped me to better understand what was going on and really-get me back to being interested in the book again. She and I went to dinner and talked some more about this and a variety of other topics, and she shared a thought with me that she and her husband had just discussed: Once the enemy (the devil) sees that you are trying to move forward (closer to God), he will start twisting your thoughts to discourage you. Simple. Obvious. Of course the devil doesn’t want me to be learning about Gods desires and plans for me. How did I not see this automatically? As I was studying and trying to better myself, he saw me getting further from him and used my own insecurities to trip me up and try to pull me back down. This idea is something that is so emphatic to me. How often this would be a great reminder to have! No wonder it is so hard to really get ahead of the game! As if trying isn’t difficult enough, now we have to try twice as hard because we were making progress. It will all be worth it though. I’m going to keep trying, I’m going to keep fighting and I will be reading chapter two tomorrow and showing the devil that I am not going to be defeated that easily! That does come with a bit of concern that next time he will just have to hit me harder, but I know that God will take care of me and He will get me through that blow as well. All I have to do is trust Him.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Two Steps Forward…well, you know the rest

  1. camilliamadden

    May 3, 2012 at 7:29 am

    yes! armor up! deception is just that, decieving, so it will come in new ways too. BUT…you are so right! God is trustworthy, and these types of situations when you go thru them will just increase your security and strength in those areas. God uses them for His good!! 🙂 I LOVE YOU!

     

Leave a Reply

 
