RSS

Full Time Job

03 May

The day has been a pretty slow one today. I had a doctor’s appointment this morning. The person who was supposed to babysit bailed on me twenty minutes before I was supposed to be at the appointment, so I ended up taking a very active, and freshly napped two-year-old with me. She was surprisingly well-behaved, no tantrums, no attempts to escape and my parenting was commended after the doctor observed my little girl hopping around the room, being a frog, a bridge and an airplane among other things.

Upon the return home, the allergy issues that I’ve been dealing with for the past few weeks decided to kick in hardcore, leaving me with a very swollen throat and a migraine being one of the worse I’ve ever experienced. Along with sinus/allergy problems, I’m also dealing with an ear infection. On top of that, I’m dealing with a home, and never can we forget…a two-year-old, and oh yes-my husband happened to be asked to stay for a twelve-hour shift at work today. While I didn’t manage to accomplish much around the house today, I did continue to be “mommy”. Taking care of a toddler isn’t easy, no matter how well-behaved they may be. Between feeding, playing, diapers and messes, there is left little time to rest and focus on getting well.

The job of a mommy is the ultimate full-time position. It doesn’t matter what mommy is dealing with concerning herself, there is always time to be the “horsey” when my daughter decides to jump on my back. That headache is forced into the background when the “fly boat” comes out and The Wonder Pets are singing their theme repeatedly throughout the day. The sore throat becomes nothing when she decides that it’s time to talk to mommy. Sometimes things can get chaotic, but “mommy” also has to be one of the best paying, and most rewarding jobs in existence. The money in it? Well it flat-out sucks. But I’ve never enjoyed hearing a “thank  you” as much as I do when it comes from my angel. There’s little as rewarding as the times she decides to wrap her arms around my neck and tell me that she loves me.

Sometimes it’s difficult to remember to enjoy those moments as things are rushing us through life. The little things that should mean so much are so easily swept under the rug as we try to finish that to-do list for the day. Remember to take the time to be thankful. Be thankful each time you need to re-fill a sippy cup, or find a snack. Be thankful when you’re watching a glass of juice being knocked onto the floor, and for all of the diapers that need to be changed. In the blink of an eye, those diapers will be a thing of the past, and she won’t need me to show her and help her with every little thing. After all, it wasn’t long ago when I had to warm her bottles and hold them until she finished.

No, parenting isn’t easy and far from always being fun, but of all of the things that I could have done with my life, I would never trade the choice that I made to become “mommy”.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Mommy

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
