RSS

Flesh Overcome By God

06 May

I have to admit that I have some issues with anger. Anybody who knows me, is probably rolling their eyes, thinking ‘no kidding’ as they read that. But it’s a fact and I don’t try to deny it. For about a year now, I’ve been thinking quite a bit about how I can change that fact. I’m easily irritated, and the littlest things can often get me more upset than one could imagine. I’ve thought so much about it, and the question I’ve continually asked is “How do I just-NOT get angry?”. I’ve focused so much on the fact that I don’t know how to avoid it. Things happen that make people mad. That’s just another fact. It’s a natural reaction. But it isn’t the reaction that God wants us to have. This is where I’ve been conflicted for so long.

As I’ve been reading more of Gods word and studying to really understand it (rather than just read it), it has been getting easier for me to understand. As I was reading “Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl” today, there was a statement that made the answer to the aforementioned question as clear as it could be…

“He loves us enough to desire to protect us from our natural-flesh responses.”

After reading that, suddenly it makes so much sense to me. How do I just NOT get angry? Because it’s what God wants me to do! That answer probably wouldn’t have made sense to me as little as one month ago, but now it seems so simple that I’m having difficulty finding a way to explain it better. 

In my quest to really know God rather than simply knowing about Him, I’ve gotten to where I can feel Him working inside me. That’s the answer. With God living and working in me, I am better equipped to “just NOT get angry”. Why? Because He doesn’t want me to be. God wants me to be at peace. He said it Himself,

“…Peace be with you; as the Father has sent Me, I also send you.” -John 20:21

God doesn’t want me to be angry, He doesn’t want me to be unhappy. He wants me to have peace! How have I never grasped this concept before? Even from my favorite verse, that says exactly what I feel like I am just now understanding, I have never felt it the way that I am feeling it and understanding it now…

“For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” -Jeremiah 29:11

So simply stated, yet it can take time to grasp. You have to WANT to understand it for it to make any sense, and I guess that is why it’s different for me this time. I truly want to understand God.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
