RSS

New Life

08 May

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” -2 Corinthians 5:17

My “new life” is becoming evident!

As I participated in a small Bible study tonight with my husband and our friend, we were answering questions about failure, mistakes made in the past and problems that we’ve had or things that we would like to do over. The thing is-my faith in God will not allow me to look any further back that what I can only describe as the beginning of this “new life”, since which, I can not say that I have honestly had a problem or made a real mistake.

Have I truly not made any mistakes? Not likely. The difference is that, unlike before God was in my life, I don’t think about my mistakes or dwell on them as being “failures”, because when I’m questioning whatever is going on, God’s word gives me the answers. His word tells me that there was likely a lesson to be learned in whatever went wrong, and I just need to look for it.

I am living my “new life” in Christ in an honest, real and pure way that I have never known before. I can feel the “new life”, I can feel God and His word rushing through me like an excitement, the likes of which I can’t even begin to describe. God knows that I make mistakes. He never commanded me to be perfect. Quite the contrary in fact, He created me with the freedom of choice. He gave me the choice to follow Him, or to deny Him. He gave me somewhere to go where I can admit my problems and mistakes and I can leave them and move on! How amazing! My mistakes are a thing of the past as soon as I have taken them to God. It doesn’t mean that they were never made, but it means that they do not define me! I know that those mistakes are NOT what God sees when He looks at me, and THAT is what is most important.

“For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.” -Romans 6:4

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “New Life

  1. hartsoffice

    May 9, 2012 at 12:26 am

    Great post, I am struggling financially and trying to read my scriptures to get the faith and the will to keep trying back in me. It is not easy, but that is where the trust in him must become apparent and he will do the rest. I got a second job washing dishes and I feel much better even thought I am not make a ton of money I am doing something and I hope that more people will notice and that it will lead to more opportunities!

     
    • valyoume

      May 9, 2012 at 7:10 am

      I’ve been through financial struggles myself, and I know how rough that can be. Matthew 6: 31-32 was a great help to myself and my family. While it can be difficult at times, having faith in God WILL get you through your struggles. Thanks for sharing and God bless.

       

Leave a Reply

 
