RSS

Time to Learn

22 May

This posting began as a page in my journal just to relieve some tension that I was feeling, but before I was even finished, I decided that this is the exact type of thing that I want to be sharing with my readers….

I’m stuck in a rut of ‘bad’ right now. The car tag expired yesterday and we are about $460.00 short of being able to pay it. I’m challenging myself not to be negative or depressed by it. I started of by kicking myself over all of the ways that my husband and I have wasted money recently, and the “Is God punishing me?” question slipped into my head before I chose to recognize that that was the devil starting to work. While I can’t deny that I have made some financial mistakes, I just had to put a stop to the chattering going on in my head that was telling me “you’re nothing more than a financial disaster.”

I was reminded of the last chapter I read last night in Made to Crave, and one thing popped into my head that instantly snapped my mood from bad to one that would better reflect God. What was that thought, you ask? “LIGHT BULB! This is a perfect example of letting my circumstances define me!” I refuse to let that happen! I am going to fight it, and I’m going to do so with a smile on my face! And do you know why that is? Because I know that God is not punishing me! Satan is testing me! I will not let him win. If he wins this little battle, he wins so much more; he wins my soul, he pulls me closer to him, and that pulls me away from God.

The Bible tells us to rejoice in our suffering,

“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.” -Romans 5:3

“Rejoice when we run into problems”, that is exactly what I am going to do. Yes, I am not only going to deal with it, but I am going to embrace it! The point of this trial is not for me to suffer, that isn’t what God wants. I believe that God wants to teach me something through this struggle. I think that my response to this situation is only a fraction of what He wants me to learn right now, and I can’t wait to see what else He has got in store for me!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Time to Learn

  1. camilliamadden

    May 22, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    thats a HUGE revelation!!! WHOOT!

     
  2. lovebugsworld

    May 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    I am so happy to have stumbled across your blog!! I needed this because I am going through a similar situation!! So…thank you!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
