RSS

Music Speaks: Steady My Heart

01 Jun

I woke up this morning, and my day started off with less than perfect circumstances. As I’ve said before, we had to renew our car tags, which required quite a large sum of money. Well, we took care of it as soon as we could, but that made us short for the other bills that we have due this week. Not the worse of all possible problems by any means, but it was enough to have me down in the dumps.

I kept telling myself all morning that I needed to make it a priority to not just forget or ignore God today because things weren’t going my way. I prayed, I tried to get my spirits up, but nothing was working. I decided to go visit my dad, living about thirty-minutes away from me, so I got my daughter ready, and turned on my iPod and got set up for the drive. Just as I was getting close to my parents house, a song started playing. It wasn’t a song that I was incredibly familiar with. I had heard it on the radio once and decided I liked the sound of it. Like I said, I had been praying. God knew exactly what I needed, and He gave it to me as a reminder in the form of this song. The song is “Steady My Heart” by  Kari Jobe

Wish it could be easy,
Why is life so messy?
Why is pain a part of us?
There are days I feel like
Nothing ever goes right.
Sometimes it just hurts so much.
But You’re here,
You’re real.
I know I can trust you.
Even when it hurts,
Even when it’s hard,
Even when it all just falls apart,

I will run to You
Cause I know that You are
Lover of my soul
Healer of my scars.
You steady my heart.
I’m not gonna worry
I know that You got me
Right inside the palm of Your hand.
Each and every moment
What’s good and what gets broken
Happens just the way that You plan.
And I will run to You
You’re my refuge in Your arms.

And I will sing to You
Cause of everything You are.
Even when it hurts,
Even when it’s hard,
Even when it all just falls apart,

I will run to You
Cause I know that You are
Lover of my soul
Healer of my scars.
You steady my heart. “

 
These words were exactly what I needed to hear. Before the song was over, I could feel the freedom of giving my problems to God, as I had tried to do earlier in the morning, but just couldn’t figure out how to. A sense of peace and joy washed over me, and I felt Gods presence and I knew that I didn’t have to worry about the things that were going on. God will worry about it for me, and He will make sure that my family is taken care of by giving us whatever we need, whether it be financially or by maybe teaching a lesson that we need to learn. Either way, it doesn’t matter right now. All that matters is that I know that He will provide.

Since hearing that song this morning (and maybe listening to it three or four more times), I’ve been in a wonderful mood. Not because of the song, but because of the meaning, because of the wonderful God that I serve. I’m not usually a crying type of person, but as I was listening to this (the first time), and I finally “got it”, I was just in awe of how amazing God is. That He would send me this little reminder, at the exact moment that I needed it, was just a miniscule example of His awesome love and power.

I have been learning so much, and honestly trying very hard to listen for God. I had always questioned in the past, whether or not God was “talking” to me, because I never felt like He was really telling me anything or leading me anywhere. I began to make a conscious effort to listen, and…that’s all it takes. I could have easily skipped the song, or chosen to let my nasty mood rule me, but I was wanting God to take over. I took that song as a gift from Him. Just as Satan puts stumbling blocks in our way, God puts answers in front of us, we just have to learn to watch for them.

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Life in General, Music Speaks

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Music Speaks: Steady My Heart

  1. camilliamadden

    June 1, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    this is fantastic. God is so good!

     
  2. canadianmommytime

    June 2, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I’ve nominated you for the versatile blogger award. http://canadianmommytime.wordpress.com/ check it out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
