RSS

One Child Challenge

13 Jun

I was scrolling through my Facebook time line this morning, just wasting time as my morning habit, when I came across a posting…three or four times. It was a post that I had seen and read yesterday in passing but hadn’t really given much thought to. Today however, I am so grateful for the changed perspective that God gave me when I saw the post again. As soon as I followed the instructions, I decided that while my modest blog may not reach a large number of people, this is something that is definitely worth sharing to those who do read it. So here is the challenge that has been put in front of myself and so many other people…

1 Child Challenge 2012

Here’s how it works:
1. Go to cure.org/challenge.
2. Pick 1 child’s story you identify with most.
3. Click Follow on the right side of that child’s page.
4. Sign in with your Facebook OR CURE account
5. As a result, a CURE donor gives $1 towards that child’s care. It is FREE for you!
6. Then share the child’s story with 1 friend via Facebook, Twitter or email.

As I said before, I really didn’t give it any thought when I passed it the first time. Seeing it again today was instantly different. Especially after seeing  it posted so many times, through various friends, I decided that this must be a challenge for me, from God. suddenly all I could think about was how stupid it would be of me to continue to ignore it. I mean really–All I had to do was click a couple of links and I helped a child who otherwise may not have gotten the medical help they needed. How could I pass that? I am supposed to give to those in need, and this doesn’t require me to give of anything more than a couple of minutes from my day. How could I ignore it? Easy. I couldn’t. God wouldn’t want me to ignore it.

“Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.”
-1 Timothy 6:18

It doesn’t get much easier than this challenge. Is it really something that we should walk away from?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
