RSS

Music Speaks: Leaving Eden

16 Jun

Leaving Eden by Brandon Heath

   

Headlines read like a warning, we’re under attack. (One more step away.)
I just waved to a stranger, he didn’t wave back. (One more step away.)
And if it weren’t for my TV, I wouldn’t know what is real. (One more step away.)
My doctor can’t do a thing for how I feel.
Feels like I’m leaving Eden.
Feels like I’m leaving Eden.
People are losing their homes to hurricanes. (One more step away.)

Old lady living next door forgot her own name. (One more step away.)
Teacher is hiding her Bible but at least she’s got a job. (One more step away.)
My local Salvation Army just got robbed.
Feels like I’m leaving Eden.
Feels  like I’m leaving Eden.”
It’s like I’m further away with every step I take
And I can’t go back ’cause I’m leaving Eden.

I’m going, going home.
I’m going, going home.
There’s no place, no place like home.
There’s no place, no place like home.

When you’re leaving Eden.
When you’re leaving Eden.
It’s like I’m further away with every step I take
And I can’t go back ’cause I’m leaving Eden.

 

This song was actually sad for me when I first started listening to it. Really listening to the words, was somewhat scary, knowing the truth behind each statement. After a while, as I’ve grown closer to God, I can’t listen to the song without getting chills at the least. There are so many negatives in the world today, and every little thing that happens really is pulling us further and further from the pure beauty that God created when man was placed into the Garden of Eden. Now, the world as a collective is just walking away from the garden. When the song bridges into “I’m going, going home”, the beauty and reality of that statement just floors me. It’s almost unreal. The feeling that comes with knowing you’re “going home” is nearly inexplicable, but if you’re living your life for the Lord, that is what’s happening. That is where you’re going. To a place where all of the bad things listed in the song are what isn’t a part of reality. How amazing will that be?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 16, 2012 in Music Speaks

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
