RSS

Mind. Blown.

26 Jun

I just started reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan last night. From the moment I began the introduction, I have had to stop about every other paragraph to highlight or copy and make notes on something that I’ve read. I have just been so amazed by this book, and really the only way that I can describe it is “mind-blowing”. 

I was a bit hesitant to read it, because the friend who recommended it to my husband and I, is what I consider to be far more advanced in his relationship with God and his understanding of–well, pretty much anything. I found it ironic that in the study guide that this friend wrote to go with this book, in the introduction, he wrote “Don’t compare!”. I couldn’t help but get a little chuckle out of that. It is certainly a statement that has proven itself more and more true as time goes by.

As soon as I started reading, I was filled with an excitement and an eagerness to read more. It has been very eye-opening for me, and I’ve been continuously sending pictures and quotes to my husband at work, being so excited to share this with him (ignoring the fact that it’s technically his book).

I’ve been forcing myself not to rush through it, as eager as I am. It’s been a struggle for me, but I’m requiring myself to take breaks between chapters to really absorb what I’ve read.

This afternoons reading, brought me to a question that, as I’ve said, blew my mind…

This question has had me at a loss for words. I had never thought of it this way before. This is only one example of the type of convicting, thought-provoking questions and thoughts that have been flowing through my mind since last night.

I wrote a message to the friend who suggested this book today. I tried to explain how I was reacting to the book, and the best way that I could find to say it, was this,

“I am falling more in love with God as I read it.”

Certainly far from the response that I expected to have to this book. I cannot wait to dive in deeper. Deeper into this book, and more importantly, deeper into God.

For those who may be interested, here is a link to my friends study guide that goes along with the book: Crazy Love Study Guide at Be The Domino

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Mind. Blown.

  1. the crunchy christian

    July 18, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    I finished that book a couple of weeks ago- it was amazing! We read “Radical” by David Platt afterward- it’s very similar, and very good but even more difficult to swallow.

     
    • valyoume

      July 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      Radical is actually sitting on my shelf waiting to be read. Can’t wait to start it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
