RSS

Independence Day

04 Jul

Today is a special day. It’s a day that has been set aside to appreciate those who fight for the freedom of our country. I think it has largely become about BBQ and fireworks more than anything else. I know that it had for me. That was until I married into a military family. My husband is an Army Veteran, his brother is currently serving and has spent 2 years in Iraq and their father and mother were also in for many years.

Through my brother’s service and seeing all that he does and deals with as a result, I’ve learned a lot more than I had ever really considered about military and soldiers in general. I have learned a new appreciation for those who put themselves in danger to fight for things that we often forget are even special. So I’d like to first say Thank You, to my brother and to all of the men and women who do or who have been fighting for the freedom of America. I doubt that I would be brave enough to do that job.

Let’s also take the time to remember something that was pointed out to me by a good friend over at Treasuring Christ,

“As we celebrate our freedom today in America, let us not forget that our true freedom is in Christ. Galatians 5:1 says it was “for freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.”

There is more than one source of freedom. I encourage you to take a few minutes of your time today to reflect on everything that we have been blessed with, that we so often take for granted.

I’d also like to throw in a safety advertisement here ;). Two years ago, the fireworks became a danger to my family. The grand finale tipped over and set a dry field next to my parents house on fire, as well as shooting flames at the house, a couple of cars, and some poor, innocent lawn furniture that didn’t make it out. So everybody, have fun and be careful out there.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
