RSS

Difficult Times

08 Jul

It seems like things have all been going down hill lately. Just random little things that have been building up in my life and have gotten me to feeling the lowest that I have felt in a long while.
My last three days have been filled with emotion and negativity, among so much more. I have allowed myself to be broken down by all of the things that the devil has been tempting me with. I have forgotten that “when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Corinthians 12:10). I have been allowing the flesh to overcome the Spirit. I have been taken over by the things that Satan wants me to be concerned with and have somehow forgotten all of the many things that God has blessed me with, most importantly, His love.

It is so easy to allow this to happen. I know that I am not the only person that it happens to, and I know that circumstances are different for each person. I also know that God can and will get us through our difficult times.

My morning routine of checking Facebook was a blessing to me today. My “news feed” was filled, nearly every other post, a link or a graphic or a status reminding me of how amazing God is. Reminders of why I serve Him, and why He deserves it.

In the difficult times, it is hard to honestly reflect on the lives that God has given us. When we are down, all we choose to see are the things that are causing us pain and sadness. Upon taking the time to really look at my life, what I found is so much different from what Satan has been showing me for the past few days. I found that I have a God that loves me, whether I say exactly the right thing every time I talk to Him or not. I found that He isn’t going to get “annoyed” if I decide to talk to Him constantly throughout the day. Isn’t that more important that the feelings of the people here on earth with me?

I found that Satan is using my own insecurities to pull me away from God once again, and I found that in my fleshy weakness, I have allowed it to happen. I have found that I am far more blessed than so many other people in this world, I have far fewer afflictions than even a number of people who I personally know. Why should I continue to allow this sadness to take me over? I shouldn’t. I can’t and I won’t. God made me for more than feeling sorry for myself. He didn’t make me to be selfish, but in focusing on myself, that is exactly what has been happening as I’ve been forgetting about what is really important and about helping others who are truly having difficult times, rather than the “difficult times” that I am allowing to take priority in my own head.

I am so fortunate to have a Father who loves me, and who forgives me for my mistakes and will take me back with open arms, no matter how many times I fall short of His will. I’m thankful for the friends, family and acquaintances who post their love for God on Facebook to remind me of the things that I am allowing myself to forget at times. I am blessed with a family and friends who I can talk to about my “problems” and be reminded that in comparison to God, those problems don’t matter.
I have home, I have health, and I have yet to go hungry. How can I feel that I “deserve” something more? God has already blessed me far more than any sinner “deserves”.

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. – 1 Corinthians 10:13

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
