RSS

The True Treasure

20 Jul

 

I’m currently reading “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God”. It is touching my heart in a special way. A way that I’m becoming quite familiar with. I believe it was “Crazy Love” that talked about feeling God pulling at your heart, directing you to do certain things. Either “Made to Crave” or “Becoming More Than Just A Bible Study Girl” also spoke about the same thing. Nearly everything that I have been reading keeps bringing me back to this same place; “release [your] grip on all that [you] love and offer it back to Him, who loves us more” (Lysa TerKeurst).

This seems to be Gods confirmation that this is what He wants me to do. God has been teaching me about greed and selfishness and He is moving me to change myself, to change my heart. My fulfilment, my “treasure” is not of this world and it is time that I start living a life that reflects that. My true treasure can’t be bought, nor can it be put on a shelf in my home. Yet so often I find myself saying that I “don’t have enough”, so I add another object to another shelf, and remain still unfulfilled. Why? Because God is the only One who can truly fulfil me. Another reminder of a previous blog, in which I wrote about the fact that trying to be complete in anything other than God is a form of idolatry. An easy trap to fall into.

Another day, another opportunity to commit myself fully to the Lord.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Building Blocks for Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
