RSS

Stress Becomes Thankfulness

21 Aug

I’m always looking for what God is wanting to show me through everything that is going on around me. Lately, it seems that He would have me focus on a few key issues. One of those being sharing His word. I have a couple of friends who are very honest about the fact that they either don’t believe or just don’t follow even though they do believe in God. While those who choose not to follow are heavy on my heart, I am grateful for the fact that they desire to get to know more and I take very seriously the fact that God has chosen me to share with them. On the other hand, I also have a group of friends who are constantly seeking His will, and who are working in all their ways to bring glory to Him. It is such an amazing encouragement to read stories of God working in people’s lives, but to be able to read from multiple sources, from multiple friends how God is working in the lives of people who I know and am close to? It is truly awe-inspiring for me.

Another area that God has my focus is on my family. My husband and I aren’t exactly in the ideal situation right now (living 25 miles apart, and constantly missing each other), but I’m convinced that it is what God wants/wanted for us to do. We gave up our house in search of something better. Not for being discontent, but for the health of our three-year-old daughter more than anything. We parted with nearly everything that we owned, which means that once we do get a house again, we may be sharing a twin bed until something else comes along. As I said, it’s not ideal. The days are long, and the nights are longer. I wouldn’t have guessed that it would be so difficult to sleep without him by my side, but–here we are, and I’m up every hour all through the night.
Under these circumstances, however, I’ve found that I’m being forced to rely on God more, which is something that I’ve been praying for over the past few months. God has been giving me the strength to do things and to have conversations with people who I would otherwise be avoiding with everything in me.

Time and boredom have also assisted me in finding a new (to me) Bible app for my phone that has some reading plans that I am extremely excited about doing, and just yesterday my husband and I decided that we would do them together in our time apart. I can’t think of anything better for us to pursue and discuss than the love and the will of the Father.

Those are just a few areas where I can see Gods presence in my life right now. There are so many more such as realizing just how much I have to be thankful for even as I am technically “homeless”, yet I still consider myself to be rich. I have everything that I need and then some to be honest. I still want more. Yes, I always want more. More things? No. I want more of God. I want more time with Him, I want more understanding of His word, and I want to want more of Him.

“I desire to do Your will, O my God; Your law is within my heart.”
– Psalm 40:8

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Stress Becomes Thankfulness

  1. nopew

    August 23, 2012 at 11:05 am

    God go with you on this. My wife and I planned to move to Manitoba a few years ago, but my job crashed just before going, so she went to hers (babysitting Grandchildren) and I stayed here to look for work. For over a year we lived a 24-hour drive apart in separate provinces. God uses every experience to advantage, and, though I pray we never have to endure that again, more good came out of it in the end than could have been imagined. Peace!

     

Leave a Reply

 
