RSS

Bad Things?

15 Oct

Over this past weekend I’ve been reading the book “The Most Misused Verses In The Bible” by Eric J. Bargerhuff.
I picked it up off of a promotional shelf in the book store a couple of weeks ago, and it looked like something that might be interesting to me. I must say, I certainly wasn’t expecting to find the answers to all of lifes questions, so I was quite surprised when I found some answers to one certain question that I’ve heard asked many times by a variety of different people from all faiths and backgrounds. 

So what is that “one certain question?”

Why do bad things happen to good people?

As I said, I wasn’t looking for these answers and the thought that I may find them—not only in this book, but in my lifetime at all—didn’t even cross my mind as I began to read.
My discoveries may not be the “full” explanation or answer sufficient to every person who has ever wondered about it, but upon the study of this book and a few key scriptures, I found the answer that I didn’t even know I was asking.
The first verse that ignited this chain of thought was Romans 8:28:

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

Bargerhuff summarizes, “Bad things happen, but God works it for good.”
That is when a light came on; Why do bad things happen? To shape us. To teach us. To form us into what we are supposed to be: More Christ-like. Evil was done when Jesus was hung on the cross. Of course, God knew it would happen. God used the ultimate evil to work the greatest good, the redemption of His children.
Why do bad things happen?

“…to make us rely not on ourselves, but on God who raises the dead.”
2 Corinthians 1:9

I had always just formed a vague answer in my own mind when I heard that question asked. You know the kind, “Oh just because that’s how God wants it.” While that may be at least partially true, there is so much joy in finding and gaining new understanding of scripture that puts a far more complete answer behind it.

I am so thankful for all that God has been teaching me, through good times, and the bad.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 15, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Bad Things?

  1. Eric J. Bargerhuff

    October 15, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    Dear Val,

    Reading this blog was an encouragment to me. Indeed, the Lord has much to teach us according to the promise of Romans 8:18. My prayer is that many more will discover that we may not get all the anwers we want in this life, but we know that if only the ultimate purpose is to become more like our Savior in character and heart, then surely that just might be enough to satisfy us for now. Blessings to you.

    Eric J. Bargerhuff

     

Leave a Reply

 
