RSS

Indescribable

18 Oct

Indescribable.
That is the only word that comes to mind as I begin this writing. Amid what I had been considering a brief “spiritual crisis,” a light shone and overtook the darkness. Just like that, my troubles had suddenly disappeared. That’s the power of God.
Indescribable.

As a child and into early adulthood, my spiritual view was narrow to say the least. As far as I was concerned, once I believed in God and was baptized of water, my part was done. I didn’t have to read the Gospel because it was no more than stories of history and a bunch of rules. My decidedly ignorant mind reasoned that once it was time for me to be held accountable, I couldn’t be punished for going against the things that I had never learned. So I did what I had to do and then God went on the back burner so I could live my life.

Knowing what I know now, I sometimes wish that I could go back–if for no other reason than to slap some sense into myself.
I joke, but salvation and eternity are far from being a laughing matter. It took years of trial and error and honestly–more than anything else–no trying at all, before I was finally able to see the truth. That Book is so much more than just a book. It is more than just “stories and rules.” The Book is Truth, and the truth can be an awesome thing.

Those “stories” that I had so desired not to know, are filled with so much knowledge. Knowledge of what is right and wrong, of faith and hope.
Knowledge of truth.
Only by learning those “stories” can you find all of those truths and write them on your heart so that they can be woven through your life.

There is little on this earth that is sweeter than witnessing as those Biblical Truths become a reality not only on the pages of a Book, but also in lives here and now. This can only happen by knowing them.

As I wrote out my thoughts and prayer to God, I noted to myself how “freeing” it is to know the truth and to see it being applied to my own life, and then it hit me…that’s exactly it!

      “…Jesus said, “If you love me
       You are really my disciples.
       Then you will know the truth,
       And the truth will set you
       Free.”
                 John 8:31-32

Indescribable.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Indescribable

  1. nopew

    October 19, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Your discovery brings me delight. How under-rated is the Word(s) of God. “God’s word is living and active. It is sharper than any two-edged sword and cuts as deep as the place where soul and spirit meet, the place where joints and marrow meet. God’s word judges a person’s thoughts and intentions” (Heb 4:12 God’s Word).

     

Leave a Reply

 
