RSS

Discovering Change

27 Oct

Gods Word is meant to change our lives…”
That statement is so overtly precise that I was caught off guard when a vibration ran through my body in the moment I gained a true understanding of it.
Of course it’s supposed to change my life, and it has. As a matter of fact,  it still is. With growing knowledge of the Bible, it is constantly changing my life. However, it wasn’t until I began reading a new book that I discovered a new way for it to change me.

I am currently reading “Multiply” by Francis Chan, in which he says, “Gods Word is meant to change our lives; James says that if all we do is hear the Word but never put it into practice, then we are deceiving ourselves.”

“But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.” -James 1:22

I was still in the introduction when I began to feel convicted, in fact−it was the very first sentence which opens the book wherein author David Platt writes, “From the beginning of Christianity, the natural overflow of being a disciple of Jesus has always been to make disciples of Jesus.”

“Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” -Matthew 4:19

“Go into all the world and make disciples.” -Matthew 28:19

Somewhere between, “Step out in faith and disciple the people whom God has placed in your life” (Chan) and, “Jesus didn’t simply lead a weekly Bible study, He lived life with His disciples and taught through actions as well as words” (Chan), I started to see two of my convictions begin to blend together and it got me thinking.
The two thoughts convicting me were fairly simple: I don’t attend church and I don’t feel that I am sharing the Good News to be the best of my ability.

While my first impulse is to start listing all of my reasons and excuses for both. However, legitimate as those reasons may be, it really all comes down to one question: Are my reasons and excused of a higher importance than my duty to the Almighty Creator whom breathed the very breath of life into me?
Weighing the options, it certainly didn’t take long to arrive at the obvious answer.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Discovering Change

  1. nopew

    October 30, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    I would only offer an affirmation – when we serve God we do so often without knowing it, even though the devil demands that we know what God is up to. Your blog reaches people in ways only God knows. Your kind actions as you live, shop, walk, whatever, can be Jesus at work (Matthew 25:31-40). So find comfort that God uses the willing life in divine ways.

     

Leave a Reply

 
