RSS

Music Speaks: Hope Now

10 Dec

As you likely know (especially since I make it point to be known), I have a social disorder. In my recent past, I have been attempting to deal with some abandonment issues that are highly intensified by my odd little quirks. How have I been “dealing” with these problems? By shutting down. It won’t likely come as a surprise, but that has not solved any of the problems. I’m at the very beginning of climbing out of the hole I’ve been trying my best to live in for the past two or three months, but I can already see the light and have no desire to extinguish the rise.

Part of my ‘light’ has come in the form of true friendship tonight as I thankfully received another opportunity to get together with some people whom I’ve been close to for years. It just so happened that on my way to their home for dinner, I heard the song “Hope Now” by Addison Road

                                                                                                                               Hope Now

th

If everything comes down to love, then just what am I afraid of?
When I call out your name, something inside awakes in my soul.
How quickly I forget I’m yours.
I’m not my own

I’ve been carried by You all my life
Everything rides on hope now.
Everything rides on faith somehow.
When the world has broken me down,
Your love sets me free.
And when my life is like a storm

Rising waters all I want is the shore.
You say I’ll be ok
Make it through the rain.
You are my shelter from the storm.
Everything rides on hope now.
Everything rides on faith somehow.
When the world has broken me down,
Your love sets me free.
You’ve become my hearts desire.
I will sing Your praises higher.

Your love sets me free.

Sometimes it really is the simplest of reminders that are needed to push through the hard times. “When the world has broken me down”, God sets me free. I just needed the right reminder to get through to me, to remind me that while people may abandon us here in this world, God hasn’t gone anywhere. He is here just like He’s always been and no matter how deep a hole I am in, He can always find me and will never forget me.
That is a reason to sing. That is a reason to “sing Your praises higher.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2012 in Music Speaks

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Music Speaks: Hope Now

  1. nopew

    December 11, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I agree, a song can grab us at a place no advice could touch. Recently I have been particularly struck by how the gospel song “I Need a Miracle” by Third Day was inspired. I’ll be bold and toot a horn for them on this link which tells the story – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4_FEFWd7kw -. Your stories inspire to hope that “joy comes in the morning” (Psalm 30:5).

     
    • valyoume

      December 11, 2012 at 10:41 am

      That is a wonderful song, and I too have been inspired by it recently. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
