RSS

Your Own Understanding

28 Dec

We have been having a hectic week in our family this past week. Along with Christmas, and visiting relatives from South Carolina and Connecticut, we have also decided to get our three-year old a new puppy, so there has been training going on for both of them. In addition to these things, there have been some more serious issues in the family such as a mother-in-law with bronchitis, and a nephew born one month premature, who is nearly one month old presently, and is currently being hospitalized after he repeatedly quit breathing and has had to have a spinal tap and other tests run.
I’ve also been attempting to help care from some other children who have a relatively rough life due to choices that were made that were beyond their control and the tension has been adding up.
During my time spent with God last night, I couldn’t help but question what I was supposed to be doing with all of this. It was an evening filled with questions, and contemplation and concern, and even a few tears.

I knew immediately that God was the only One who could help me find the answers that I needed to my questions, as well as the peace to calm my heart and mind.

The answer that I received was not the answer that I was looking for, but it was certainly the right answer.
As difficult as it can be to accept, sometimes there is just nothing that we can do when things seem to be going wrong. Sometimes there are no actions that we can take that will instantly solve everything for everyone. In fact, I’ve found that to be the case more often than not. That doesn’t mean that we should give up. That never helps either. So what can we do?

Take it to God. He is the One who is in control. He is the One who can change or “fix” what is going on. Again, even if we don’t get the result that we are hoping for, we can feel confident in knowing that whatever happens, will happen according to the divine Will of God. I have received some of the most amazing strength and guidance and courage through simply talking with God in times of trouble.  As I knew only He could, the Lord calmed my mind and heart. He took away my temporary inability to function under the weight of everything going on, and He reminded me that He has it under control.

Sometimes we don’t really “need” answers, but sometimes we just need to be willing to talk with the One who rules over everything. We don’t always need to understand, we just need to accept things.th

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding”
Proverbs 3:5

As a child, my grandfather always told me, “Whether you like it or not, there is a solution to every problem.” It doesn’t matter if you like the solution or not. It doesn’t matter if it’s the solution that you want, but there is a solution to everything, and I was reminded of just that last night.
All of the things going on in our lives that seems wrong and “unfair” may seem that way to us, but it’s not for us to question. It’s not going to change the outcome of things because we put in a good word in our daily prayers. God will do what it right, because Only He knows what that truly is.
That has been a hard lesson for me to learn, but it is definitely one worth learning.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 28, 2012 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
