RSS

The Truth About Security

05 Jan

“But what happens when the people of God do not escape from the beguiling enchantment of security? What happens if they live their lives in the mirage of safety? The answer is wasted lives.” – John Piper

This is the thought that is heavy on my heart right now.
I’ve been reading “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper for the last two days and I have been unable to put it down. It is a fantastic book and it has got me thinking so much and I have again been finding answers to questions that I’ve been asking most of my life.

A friend of mine suggested this book to me, saying that I’d really like it, and boy, was she ever right. This afternoon as I come to chapter five, I’m fairly certain that this is exactly where she was at in her reading when she thought of me.
Chapter five is titled, “Risk Is Right−Better to Lose Your Life Than To Waste It.” Those who know me, or even follow my blog likely have a sense of how much this chapter relates to me. From the first paragraph, I felt as if a magnet was drawing me deeper into the book. While I’ve been learning a lot from this book, the quotation at the start of this blog is the first point in the book where I’ve really had to pause to collect my raging thoughts.

After reading Pipers questions and answer found here, my initial thought was instant and simple. “Ouch.” bigstockphoto_risk_1072402
Sadly I know that this is exactly what I have been trying to do with my life; I’ve been attempting to hide and to live in what he refers to quite fittingly as “the mirage of safety,” even knowing that it doesn’t truly exist.

The author got me praying and wondering, How many opportunities for joy and blessings have I missed by trying to hide? How many chances have I passed up to share Gods love with others because I was too afraid to be social, too afraid to take the risk?

The answer? Too many. Even if it was only one, it was one too many. Risk for the glory of God is necessary, and something to take joy in. It’s hard for me to believe that I didn’t see that before reading this book, but I see it now and it’s time to make a change.

Here’s a new request for my blog. I ask that you please pray for me. Pray for me to have the strength and courage to step out in faith and to overcome my fear that I may bring glory to the Savior. Please pray with me, that I don’t waste my life.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2013 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Truth About Security

  1. nopew

    January 8, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Wow! How exciting for you. And scary. And energizing. If you put a spiritual white robe on it, the saying, “Nothing ventured; nothing gained” says a lot. May others be inspired by your inspiration. As someone who many times was trashed because everyone around wanted to play it safe I can say the devil never worries about those who “don’t rock the boat” or “play it safe”. May the power of The Almighty God be yours in a new way, I pray.

     

Leave a Reply

 
