RSS

Music Speaks: Where I Belong

08 Jan

Where I Belong
Building 429

“Sometimes it feels like I’m watching, from the outside.
Sometimes it feels like I’m breathing, But am I alive?
I won’t keep searching for answers that aren’t here to find.

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

So when the walls come falling down on me
And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea
I have this blessed assurance holding me.

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

When the earth shakes
I wanna be found in You.
When the lights dim
I wanna be found in You.

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong.”

I came across this beautiful song a few months ago and while I generally skip through the songs on my iPod at a rapid rate, this is one that I can never skip. Each time I listen to it, I am compelled to sing along, and each time I sing to the Lord “this is not where I belong, take this world and give me Jesus” I experience chills and just an aching in my core. It has taken me some time to find a way to express just what that feeling in my gut is but tonight I finally figured it out. It finally hit me that this is my spirit groaning to be home with my Father. I love this simple yet imperative actuality that this world may be where my body resides, but it certainly is not my home. I do not belong here.

“If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world.”
– John 15:19

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Music Speaks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Music Speaks: Where I Belong

  1. nopew

    January 10, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I like this song, too, but one thing that gets me comes from Paul, I do belong here as well for here I serve the One Who has made Heaven home for me. I am here to be a signpost for others to the real home. Thrill to the chills the song gives you, for in them Paraclete renews your soul.

     

Leave a Reply

 
