RSS

“A Day Off”

13 Jan

“Even preachers take a day off.”

Those words have been echoing in my head since yesterday. It isn’t the first time I’ve heard this in the past year, and whether it was directed at me or not, it has had me thinking. The most recent person who’s said this, accompanied it by also making the point that saying something numerous times does not make what you’re saying true, nor does it change the opinions of others, and it also does not mean that you’re better at whatever it is that you’re talking about (i.e….parenting, Christianity, a fan of something, etc.). The final words from this statement have also been bothering me, “Just makes you that annoying person.”

I began to think about this in terms of things that I say and share on social platforms. Aside from updates on my daughter and odd things that she does, the only other thing that I am repetitive about is God. I often share Scripture or quotes from authors/books that I am reading. I share things that speak to me, realizing that is a social platform and other people can read it, most often, I repost these things as a reminder to myself more than anything. However, sometimes I also post them because I know that I have friends and family who will also appreciate them, as well as some people, like myself, who can come across a Scripture at a random point in their day and be uplifted by it.

So, “even a preacher takes a day off.” Yes. He takes a day off from preaching. Preaching on Sunday morning is his “job”, it’s what he does as work or employment. Does this means that as a child of God, he is not to speak the Gospel at any other time? No, because while preaching may be his job, God is his life. If you are a doctor, do you refuse to save the life of someone in need simply because it’s your “day off?” I sure hope not.

In the past two years, I’ve been quite openly mocked about my faith, being called so-called insulting names, such as “a Bible-thumper”, and a “God-girl”, and I’ve been told that I don’t “have” to “act” like the “good girl” all the time just because I’m “religious”, and I’ve been told “even a preacher takes a break.” Unfortunately, sometimes when you hear something so much, you begin to wonder if it’s true. Well, yesterday in a moment of weakness was one of those times for me as these words kept ringing in my mind. I began to think, maybe I am doing something wrong, maybe I should just keep it to myself and stay quiet about what I believe. But wait–it seems like I’ve

heard something like this before. Just the opposite, in fact.

The cost

“He said to them “Go into all the world and preach the Good News to all creation.” – Mark 16:15

“You will be hated by all the nations because of me.” – Matthew 24:9

“If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.” – John 15:19

Am I supposed to remain silent in my faith? Absolutely not! Am I going to lose loved ones because of this? Most certainly, if they are not believers as well (Matthew 10:32-29). But it is a price that must be paid, and one that I am willing to pay if it means that I will one day see my Father in heaven.
I will not deny Him, and I will not down-play His existence and role in my life, and I will not take “a day off”, even if that means that people won’t like me and even if I become “that annoying person”. While it’s a difficult sacrifice to make, it is one that I have made before, and one that I will more than likely be making again before my life on this earth is over.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to ““A Day Off”

  1. camilliamadden

    January 13, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    awesome stuff. Love that you posted John 15, the whole section is encouraging to me when all this stuff comes up with us.

    18 “If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. 19 If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. 20 Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours.

     
    • valyoume

      January 13, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      I read those verses frequently, especially lately.

       
  2. nopew

    January 13, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    How encouraging. I meet way too many people who give up, go silent, live in camouflage. Never give up giving news about the Good News – it’s good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
