RSS

A Matrimonial Revelation

21 Feb

I know that this isn’t exactly a news flash−in fact I think that I may have mentioned it before−marriage is hard!

Of course, all marriages deal with less-than-perfect circumstances at some point or another.
When I married my husband, I had a plan. We would be the exception. Our marriage would be easy. Why? Because, in my young, naive mind, people made their relationships difficult. We would choose for ours to be easy, and it would be so.

It didn’t take me long to figure out that would not be how things would work in reality.

My husband and I are both equally stubborn, and have possibly a little too much in common. I’ve always heard that “opposites attract”, and well–that just isn’t the case here. We are both unintentionally firm in the fact that, while we don’t necessarily want to control everything around us, we don’t want anybody else to be able to either…including our spouse. We both much prefer to operate on our own timeline, which, more often than not is the exact opposite of each others.

Needless to say, we frequently find ourselves bickering. Not out of anger, and really−much of the time, there is not really any reason for it.

I’ve come to realize that, at least for myself, the devil is involved.
We are living in a world that tells you to seek out your own happiness above all else. A world that tells us that if things aren’t perfect, we should find something better. Even growing up in a godly household, you will have much influence from this world, no matter how sheltered and protected you may be.

As a child and teen, my parents sheltered me. They monitored what I watched on tv, what kind of music I listened to, what kind of people I surrounded myself with and what kind of influences I had in my life.
That did not stop the world from getting in, and in turn for that, the “me, me, me” train of thought was, to a point, ingrained into my mind.

So when things aren’t going “perfectly” in marriage, what am I supposed to do? The world/devil tells me to move on. End it and find something “better”.
Thankfully, our marriage is not just between my husband and myself. There is another involved who has His mighty hand over us, and has been our guide through some of the most difficult times. He is the One who has taught me that it isn’t supposed to be “easy,” nothing is.
He is the One who tells me that my marriage is supposed to last.
There is a nature of sin that the world brings into a marriage, and it is our responsibility to fight that sin, just like any other that we encounter.union

I’ve also learned that without the bad times, we would have no inclination to seek out the good times. Why would we be looking forward to something better if we’re “perfectly” happy with what we have?
Life−including marriage−is not supposed to be “perfect,” it is not supposed to be “easy.” We are supposed to have a strong reliance on the Father to help us through every second of every part of it, relying on Him to carry us through and praising Him all the while, until one day when we can be with Him, because with Him is the ONLY place where perfection can truly be attained.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 21, 2013 in Life in General, Wife

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “A Matrimonial Revelation

  1. lovebugsworld

    February 22, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    I love this!! I am a year and 3 1/2 months into my marriage and I agree with you, marriage isn’t easy, but it doesn’t have to be hard either. It is just like any relationship and you have to work at it. God has to be in the equation and most importantly first. Kudos to you and your husband! You all have the right mind set and you understand the structure. Just keep at it! I pray that you continue a life full of love and happiness. 

     

Leave a Reply

 
