RSS

Music Speaks: “Monster” & More

05 Mar

Four years ago, I married a monster.
He as wounded, lost and filled with rage. The monster that I married believed that God was to blame for so many hardships and tragedies throughout both his childhood and his adult life.
The monster was violent and in search of any and every outlet he could find to unleash his anger.

HusbandSomewhere along the line, the monster had a few meetings with God and learned that he was off track with his misplaced anger and blame.

Four years and six months after getting married, the monster that I joined my life to is nowhere to be found.
The monster has since rebuilt a long dormant relationship with Him and rediscovered that the Savior is just that.

Today is my husbands 33rd birthday, and I am so proud of the man that he is and that he is becoming. I consider myself very fortunate to have found a man with whom I can learn and grow. We’ve been able to rediscover the wonder of the Lord near the same time period together in our marriage and it has been an exciting walk and I’m so thankful that we’ve been able to do it together.

(Happy Birthday, baby.)

Monster
by Skillet

The secret side of me, I’ll never let you see.
I keep it caged but I can’t control it.
So stay away from me, the beast is ugly.
I feel the rage and I just can’t hold it.

It’s scratchin’ on the walls, in the closet, in the halls.
It comes awake and I can’t control it.
Hidin’ under the bed, in my body, in my head.
Why won’t somebody come and save me from this
Make it end.

I feel it deep within
It’s just beneath the skin
I must confess that I feel like a monster.

My secret side I keep, hid under lock and key.
I keep it caged but I can’t control it.
Cause if I let him out, he’ll tear me up, break me down.
Why won’t somebody come and save me from this
Make it end.

It’s hidin’ in the dark
It’s teeth are razor sharp
There’s no escape for me
It wants my soul, it wants my heart.

No one can hear me scream
Maybe it’s just a dream
Or maybe it’s inside of me
Stop this monster.

I feel it deep within
It’s just beneath the skin
I must confess that I feel like a monster

I’m gonna lose control
It’s something radical
I must confess that I feel like a monster.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 5, 2013 in Music Speaks, Wife

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Music Speaks: “Monster” & More

  1. nopew

    March 7, 2013 at 6:45 am

    You just made my day! I love “love stories” with winners! God does do wonderful things…

     

Leave a Reply

 
