RSS

The Truth About “Love”

11 Apr

Browsing through the feed of my Facebook has been quite the source of sadness and heartbreak for me in recent months. There is an issue that has been heavy on my heart–quite possibly because it relates to people much like myself. These people so much like me, yet still so different.
I suppose though, I was just like them not too very long ago.

At the age of eighteen, I thought that my life was over, after all, things didn’t go as planned with a boy. Tragic, I know. Things didn’t work out with the first boy that I was interested in and so I more or less began a search of “the one” who would “fix” everything so I could get my life started.
I really was looking for “the one”, but in reflection, I now know (and wish that I had known then) that what I should have been looking for was the One.

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been reading Kyle Idlemans book “gods at war” and I’ve been thoroughly enjoying it. This evening I began “Part 4 The Temple of Love” and have struggled to make it through each paragraph thinking about certain women in my life and/or women who are no longer in my life as much as they once were.

Mr. Idleman says, “Our culture holds up romantic love as the greatest and noblest of pursuits.” The truthfulness of that statement breaks my heart.
Having been one of the girls who was in the pursuit of nothing more than romantic love and remembering how exhausting it is, and knowing what I know now, I just ache for any women (or men, to be accurate) who are putting themselves through such pain in search of a fantasy.

The book goes on to say, “When you say to someone, “I want you to satisfy me; I want you to save me; I want you to be my source of significance,” what you’re really saying is, “I want you to be god to me.”
I know so many women in that position, some who have found their “god”, some who have found him many times and some who are still using every known resource to search for him. When I found my husband, those were all things that I wanted him to be for me. I wanted him to save me, satisfy me, and make me significant.
Oh, had I only known then that there is only One who can do all of that for me.

It is my fervent prayer that anyone who is in the pursuit for love, the pursuit to become complete, will find the only One who can truly be that missing piece-the Only One who will truly matter in the long run. In Him is the only place to find true happiness and contentment.

image

As I’ve said before, I have a three-year-old daughter. She is another reason that subject is so close to my heart. At this young an age, culture (and by “culture” I mean Disney) has already taught her that a princess needs to marry her Prince. In the past month, my little girl has purposes to nearly every man in the family and has tearfully asked her daddy, “Who can I marry?” She has cried to her grandpa, “Daddy said he can’t marry me.”
It has proven difficult to teach her otherwise when the rest of the world is telling her that she needs to find her prince as soon as possible in order to be happy.

“The truth is, you and I were made for a love far deeper, far richer than any human relationship can offer.” – Kyle Idleman

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Life in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Truth About “Love”

Leave a Reply

 
