RSS

New Year 2014

03 Jan

Leave it to me to be late to the party…

I was thinking on New Years Eve about the year that has just passed. It seems as if the year flew by. 2013 was quite busy/hectic for my family and myself. It was a year filled with love and loss, joy and sorrow (cliche, though that may sound). Around the middle of the year is when things really took off, though that is not to say the the first half was by any means dull. In July there was a bit of a family reunion for my husbands side of the family. The brother living the farthest from the rest grouped up with the wives and planned a surprise trip for a reunion after twelve years since the last time they had all be together. Old bonds were rekindled, and new bonds were formed.

The year also brought many disappointments and tragedies, as is often the case. I can comfortably say that the negatives nearly outweigh the positives of the year. While that may sound a bit gloomy to say the least, I can also say that in each negative event through the year, I saw God working just as strongly if not more so. Through the difficult times, family ties grew stronger in some cases. Some family members turned from God, and some found or rediscovered Him. 

Needless to say, family was a big focal point of my year. That being said, family has been on my heart especially since the end of the last year and the start of the new year. It seems only natural that this would get me thinking about the common place New Years tradition of the “New Years Resolution.” 

I am not the person who frequently sets a New Years Resolution, although I have at times in the past. This year however, seemed different for whatever reason. This year, I wanted to resolve to be better.
Due to the circumstances of a particular situation within the family, my heart is and was especially set on my daughter and the role that God has given me as her mother. 

My Resolution

For the year of 2014, I resolve not to be the kind of mother who can take her child for granted. I am positively blessed to have been given this treasure that God has entrusted to me. Words cannot express my feelings of joy from this gift. 
God has given me a duty to raise her and care for her and most importantly to teach her. My biggest “job” is to teach my daughter about the One who made her, to teach her of the love that He has for us, and what that means for the way she (and all of His creation) lives the life He has given.
I consider this to be a huge responsibility, and I know that there have been times when I have not lived up to the task. I pray to the Father that He may grant me the strength and wisdom to raise this child He has given me, so that she may be prepared when it is time for her to return to her Maker.

Wishing you all blessings in the New Year.
Cayla

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 3, 2014 in Life in General

 

One response to “New Year 2014

  1. nopew

    January 3, 2014 at 9:51 pm

    I see I write again that it is nice to see you writing again. And God go with you through 2014.
    Peace

     

Leave a Reply

 
