RSS

Conviction from Job

11 Jul

“Have I looked at the sun shining in the skies, or the moon walking down its silver pathway, (‭Job‬ ‭31‬:‭26‬ NLT)

My heart was overwhelmed last night after reading that verse. My little “family” has a nightly Bible study and yesterday we finished Job. Twelve chapters took us around three hours.

I have read the book of Job numerous times, yet many verses have been hidden from me in the past. Last night, God saw that it was time to open my heart to new parts of His Word and verses like Job 31:26-along with many others- convicted me like never before. I had a new understanding of this verse in particular and my heart was suddenly filled–overflowing with the need for God and the hurt of knowing how often the insignificant things of this world get placed in front of God and in turn become our gods.

While our little group always has wonderful discussion in our reading, last night was different. Gods plan prevailed last night and Job 31 really hit hard.

What do you do when a piece of information hits you and convicts you to the point where your mind becomes a haze and you’re spinning? When your heart beats so rapidly, feeling like it is about to explode? With your stomach filled with disgust that it were even possible to somehow forget the majesty of the God whom we serve and essentially replace Him with things of no importance?
I know what I did. I fled to a dark room and prayed. Overwhelmed by my undeserving self, and by Gods unending grace, I prayed. Thanking God and repenting for all of the times when He somehow becomes the background when He truly is the only reason for this life to even exist.

It is easy in this world to “forget” why we are here or who deserves the glory for everything. Take some time to ponder this, and think of the things that we so often think-even momentarily-are so important to us. Remember the real reason that we are here.

Remember that it is not money or possessions that make this life possible, but the very breath of God that carries us along each day.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 11, 2014 in Life in General

 

One response to “Conviction from Job

  1. nopew

    July 12, 2014 at 3:45 am

    Well, I can certainly identify with what you write here. And so true that we struggle against temptations all around us, and so many look so innocent! But then the Light comes in and we are renewed. Blessings.
    Peace

     

Leave a comment